Are they trying to screw me?!

subaruN00B

Hey guys,

I'm a new car owner, and thus new to Subarus. I bought a 2010 Subaru Impreza (H4-2457cc 2.5L; 33,000+ miles) with no bells or whistles, just the standard model. Anyway... I took my car to get its oil changed and the mechanic of a chain garage store told me that he did some research and found the following "severe" maintenance details:

-Air cleaner/element replacement

-Automatic Transaxle fluid replacement

-Cabin air filter replacement

-differential fluid replacement

-spark plugs replacement

He told me it needed to be done ASAP and that it would come to nearly $600! Was this guy trying to screw me over or is it really essential that I do all of that maintenance this early to maintain the longevity of my car?

I am a poor college student so I would only be able to do these separately so which do you believe are vital and completely necessary? Is this stuff really that expensive or should I start looking elsewhere?

drvsdwz

DRiVe SiDeWayZ
all of those items do fall under regular maintenance plans for these cars....

I have never changed the cabin air filter, that alone is about $30.

for the air intake filter, maybe get a k&n, and just wash it every couple of oil changes, or just keep the regular paper element. if it doesn't look dirty, it doesn't need to be replaced(they are white)

spark plugs are expensive only because it takes forever for the labor. If you can find someone on here that can help you do it, you would be better off in that aspect. Where are you located?

as for the diff and tranny fluid that should also be replaced, only because if there is no documentation of it being done, and something in your drivetrain goes(I.e. tranny or differentials) they can deny any warranty claim because you didn't follow the maintenance schedule.

I'm not trying to be pessimistic, but to be optimistic, I'm sure you might be able to find someone to help you do the labor if you purchase the parts/fluid.