2.5 rs wrx swap help..

kblood477

I have a 2000 Subaru rs and I have an 05 wrx motor that is going in it pretty much all stock . I have the wrx harness and getting a stock wrx ecu .. whats my best option for either merging harness's or what ever is easiest . Im not very good with the engine management side of things . so any help would be EXTREMELY appreciated.

thanks for anything you guys can help me with .

Matt

Just pay someone to swap it so you know it's done right. I think it's like 500 bucks or something.

sooch

Type-RA
talk to I-wire on rs25.com. hes the guy to go to. ya you wont learn, but he does it in 2 days and everything is garunteed.... really good guy, hes the guy im going to when my time comes!

Iboc_C64

I thought there was a thread I saw a while back, thought it was here but maybe elsewhere. It said you need to have the ignition switch and ECU to match, otherwise it won't start. There was also a list of other stuff it needed about a mile long and something like $5000 invested ot make it work. My brother and I asked the question of doing a WRX swap a while back and I decided to encourage him to just Tune Up the 2.5DOHC N/A engine hes got in it becuase I don't want the added stress. If he wants to do it, I don't want to help because everyone here makes it sound like going to hell in a handbag.

Matt

It's a complicated swap. I wouldn't say to not to try it if you have the cash to spend. just be prepared to spend a lot.

Iboc_C64

I would say the only thing that makes doing that to an older model worth it would be the fact that you couldn't buy them new that way, and the older chassis was much lighter. Any Impreza after 2002 though, just buy one that came as a WRX.

Kblood, keep us up to date if you would. I would like to know what you find actually needs to go in to this.

JoshP