Anyone an electrician on here?

rsalomon13

Are any any of you electricians? I have a question regarding load capacity at 240v vs 120v. I don't want to start a heated discussion but I just want to verify what I believe to be true.

If you have a panel rated at 200amp@240v, you can technically(All balancing, 80% rule and such aside), have 20 20amp@120v breakers(Totaling 400amps@120v) running at full capacity in this panel.

Any input from those with more then basic DIY knowledge, i.e. a licensed electrician or electrical engineer, would be appreciated.

IBratmanI

Subaru Ambassador- AdidaSubarus
Yes you can, but they won't all be running at full capacity will they?? If you actually have something drawing on each one, then something will most likely blow, but it is very common to fill the panel with breakers, and have them add up to more amps then the panel is rated for, but they can't all have a draw on them at the same time. (I worked as an electrician for over 3 years)

rsalomon13

I am not considering "the demand factor", or the 80% rule. I am talking pure concept. 200amps@240V is the same as 400amps@120V. Basic math can prove this, 240Vx200amps = 48000W, 120Vx400amps = 48000W.

What I am saying, is that a panel rated for 200amps@240v, can have 20 fully loaded 20amp@120V circuits. This is due to the fact that a dual pole(240V) breaker can carry 200amps per leg. I am 90% sure this is correct, but let me know if this is not.

4WRXter

Skier!
ME. Limited Master(House wiring) Elec.

Provided you put 10 breakers on one side and 10 on the other side, you are correct in concept.

wzrd

I am not considering "the demand factor", or the 80% rule. I am talking pure concept. 200amps@240V is the same as 400amps@120V. Basic math can prove this, 240Vx200amps = 48000W, 120Vx400amps = 48000W.