DIFFICULT question about a EJ22 problem:

Animal25RS

I have a '97 EJ22 with electrical problems (i think), i took it to evergreen subaru a week ago and their diagnosis is a little strange. They're telling me that if i buy a $350 alternator from them to replace my advanced auto parts alternator...it'll fix my engine problem. Would putting a "Subaru" alternator in place of a generic alternator fix a power issue? It doesn't make sense to me, because an alternator is just an alternator to me, i have no technical knowledge about them.

The problem I'm having with the obs is this: when driving, the obs starts to bog after a few mins of driving. The car is going 30mph, my fot hasn't moved but I'm startimg to lose momentum, i push the gas in a little more with no response; i have to floor it to get any response of power.

I've been told it a wiring issue or an alternator issue.

Please please...would someone with great knowledge and experience explain this to me!? Please.

Chris

YARRR SUBY MONSTER!!
Does it ever snap out of this issue? Does it have the check engine light on?

Bogging like this sounds like fuel delivery to me. There's an o-ring in the pump assy. that likes to leak and cause low fuel pressure, clogged filter, etc can cause low pressure or low flow.

But going back to the alternator theory. Is your battery charged? If you put a meter on it, you should have 13.8v or above for a healthy charging system.

I've driven my car with a charged battery and no alternator for quite some distance (completely failed alt). And it didn't have any problems at all. By the time I got home, the battery was actually down to around 10.5 volts, so it did get pretty low.