New to the forum :)

injulen

I live in Winthrop, ME, and I love my Subarus!

I have an associates degree in applied science in computer technology, obtained from CMCC in Lewiston, ME. I have worked for my step-dad doing plumbing and heating work since high school while also working for periods at the Geek Squad and Carbonite.

My first car was a 1996 Ford Taurus which lasted me about a year before the transmission went. After that I moved on to a 1987 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme which I absolutely loved. RWD, so when it was slippery out I was having a blast
default_smile.png
The Olds finally needed too much in repairs so I went out and bought my first Subaru. The day after I bought my '97 wagon I went on a 1300 mile road trip to Indiana without a problem and immediately started falling in love with the Subaru engineering.
default_smile.png

Even though I don't have a garage I still try and do all my own maintenance and repairs on my vehicles. I've self taught a lot of things but my two dads have both helped to teach me a lot along the way. I've tackled timing belt changes, exhaust repairs, cooling system repairs, starter replacements, alternator replacements, spark plug replacements, rust repairs, rear strut changes, brake pads + rotor replacements, outer tie rod replacements, and more that I can't think of right now. Next on my list is valve cover gaskets, mine are starting to seep oil.

My 1997 Legacy L, I purchased from Norm's in Wiscasset for just under $4500. The dealership had just replaced the entire EJ22 with a comparable mileage one out of a 1996 Legacy. So I ended up with a Phase 1! The car was at 168,000 miles when I purchased it. I am now about to pass 236,000 miles without any major mechanical failures. (Regular maintenance works wonders!)

My 1995 Legacy L, I purchased from a private seller I found on Craigslist. I got this one for only $750 
default_smile.png