98 Forester, Fix or Sell?

saucymonkey

So my girlfriend broke the timing belt on her 98 forester, and now its going to need a lot more than just a timing belt. The car has 192,000 miles. It's not in the very good condition cosmetically, but it does have 4 new tires and a new windshield, the only things it would need for the next inspection are all 4 shocks and a rear swaybar link according to the shop. Were very torn as to what to do. I't looks like the cheapest fix we can come up with is a complete used (160,000) engine for 900 +about 700-900 installation. I've also been considering those JDM engines on ebay but i don't think that's something the shop its at now(the Warren Auto Barn) would be into. I am probably capable of fixing the car myself but i have absolutely no time right now, and it would be quite a steep learning curve for me because i have never worked on a subaru engine before. The shop said they would buy the car off us for about $200, but it might be worth my while to part it out ourselves, I would think the aluminum wheels and new tires are worth at least that much. Its not an obvious choice, what would you guys recommend? Anyone have a good engine they'd like to sell, are their other easy engine swaps available? -Chris

-

-=Lobstah=-

Depends on your finances and how much you like the car. I'd fix it
default_additional_sillylol.gif

Matt

your car according to kbb in the worst possible condition is worth about 2500....since it needs a motor now id say knock another 1500 off from that, if you do get a used motor id do the timing belt, wp and anything else before the install... maybe 500 in parts for the struts....so maybe the cars worth 750-1000??? id say for the amount of money the cars going to need to be able to run and then inspection items it may be worth buying something else and either parting it out or selling as a non runner...my 2cents

saucymonkey