Learn me on some tech stuff

Vegasjetta

So a friend of mine recently picked up this extremely clean 99 2.5RS. It has 15X,000 on the car, and supposedly 20k on the motor. He was told it was a JDM block that was used. All I see on the top is "EJ25", and it looks like every other 2.5 I have seen.

It has a MAF sensor in between where the air comes in and the TB. When that MAF is unplugged, it runs like crap, but runs. With it plugged in, it will run for 3 seconds and die. Obviously the MAF is dirty or bad and needs to be replaced. Here's what I don't understand: The 99 Legacy with 2.5 doesn't even have a MAF for me to pull off and try to use. What's that all about? Also, it looks like the MAF was an afterthought. Look at the pic belog and tell me if that looks the littlest bit correct...

If this were all VW engines/problems, I would know every little thing about it. I'm fairly new to Subarus, but I am not new to being a backyard mechanic.

Here's some pics...

The car in question:

IMG_5761.jpg

EJ25:

IMG_5774.jpg

MAF that looks like it doesn't belong. Rubber boots/clamps, purge valve bolted off to the side, etc.:

IMG_5775.jpg

And for good measure, the 99 Legacy I got:

IMG_5780.jpg

So as stated, please, someone teach me the ways of Subaru!

apkarian100

Vendor
I think you're right. It doesn't look like it belongs. Can you take a pic of the engine bay from farther away, so we can see the whole engine? It might help to narrow down what going on here.

This is what a stock 99 Impreza RS engine bay looks like, for reference.

P1010564.JPG

High res shot; http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/mDH9OXJg3E0s-dgMpiOipg

Looks as if the previous owner used the stock MAF tube and added another OEM intake part on the end.

Last edited by a moderator:

Legwagon

BC-BF-*BJ*
I might be wrong but I don't believe there is much of a difference between the USDM and JDM 25 blocks.

and from the pictures I would almost say that is the stock block..

but again I could be wrong.